*How to ‘Pan For Gold’ at the Grocery Store (FREE SEEDS)

Posted: April 14, 2009 in Exclusives
Tags:

Some claim that during the first Great Depression seeds were worth more than gold. It makes sense… especially if you have over 100 different types of seeds.

Today “heirloom seeds” would obviously be worth the most being natural instead of genetically modified. But lets face it, unless your diet is completely devoid of fruits and vegetables, for all you know you eat GMO foods daily if you shop at the local grocery.

Its still best to have non-GMO seeds, and is you have the bucks you can order them, or if you search all the stores you’ll find some foods marked Heirloom from time to time. But regardless, pretty much everyday we eat or throw away seeds that we could be saving, and growing for more free food and seeds.

Not everything you can buy will have mature enough seeds to grow, but most stuff that has seeds inside does. So the more markets you visit the more unique items you can get your hands on. Bulbs you can plant outright (to then let mature and set seeds to collect), and some stuff like Leeks and Green Onions still have their roots and will grow once planted. Some whole plants with their roots lopped off, such as Mini Bok Choy, will actually grow their flower mast and survive long enough to set seeds for you.

So we’re basically looking at buying groceries and getting free seeds. On my first trip I was grabbing small amounts of each item with some stuff coming out to $.15 to get a decent amount of seeds for the variety. Now its all routine buying whatever is unique and is for dinner.

Certain things you’ll still need to buy the seeds for normally. Where I live the local “Dollar General” stores have a decent selection of seeds that cost 3 for $1. And a local Asian market has Asian vareity seed packs for $.99, which provides some cheap alternatives to the ‘Home Debit’ type stores.

So when I go grocery shopping I now call it ‘Prospecting”, and at home I have a stack of paper plate ‘Gold Pans’ I use to sort most seeds on. Other seeds like Tomato can be a pain. With the salimy types you’ll need to pour the goup into a jar with some water, and leave in the sun for 1 or more days to let the slime decompose and slide of the seeds. The seeds are ready when you can add water and pour off the organic content with the seeds sinking to the bottom instead of staying suspended mid-level with the rest of it. Google God can tell you the rest.

Some sites to get heirloom seeds from:

http://www.grannywarriors.com/

http://www.heirloomseeds.com/

http://rareseeds.com/

http://seedrack.com/

http://www.seedsavers.org/

Comments
  1. I have 67 Tomato plants from 1 half spilled Organic tomato, that is currently running at around 95% gemination success, I think I only had 2 fatalities due to overcrowding. For those that don’t know if plants are two crowded they send out chemicals to passify a neighbouring plant 😉

  2. A friend gave me some mixed Chillis to I have 7 pants plus many more seeds for later 😉

  3. Also after a search earlier in the year to find out info on my Prickly Pear I found out you can eat the leaves, I then remember seeing them on a farm in Palestine

    http://www.wikihow.com/How-to-Eat-Prickly-Pear-Cactus

    I have 2 varieties a small and the standard large Mexican one.
    I’ve already tried the small and it was delicious, light tasting somewhere between Avacado and Cucumber with hints of citrus.
    As soon as I re-pot the large one I’m tucking in

    Oh and before I forget I once found the fruits on sale in (Romford Market I think) and they are highly recomended, just remember the spines though the pads and fruit carry them!!

  4. newsshop says:

    wow

    thank you for review best site

    good job

    🙂

  5. steve says:

    Noticed a comment about saving tomato seed being a pain. If I like a certain tomato (especially salad types) at a salad bar, I squeeze the seeds spacing them out on my napkin. I write down the date and the type I think it is and tuck in my shirt pocket. I then put the napkin on the window seal for a few days before putting them away for later planting. When time to plant I just put down a layer of dirt in a pot and then lay out my napkin of nicely spaced seeds and cover napkin with soil. The napkin is already rotted by the time the tomatoes are ready to plant in the garden. Have had great results over the years planting this way.

  6. angan says:

    how to get seed, im in indonesia..

    • ignoranceisntbliss says:

      I’m not too exactly sure how you’d gather seeds aside from the local markets. But I’ll tell you this: If you get a nice stash of seeds going I’d like to trade with you via mail. I have about 350 different types!

Leave a Reply

